Custom Work!

So a couple weeks ago the girl I was best friends with in 6th grade (that was many, many years ago mind you. Like 10+) contacted me on Facebook asking if I could make her a dress for an upcoming banquet she was having. Of course I said yes, I had never done “real” custom work before and was excited to do something! I got into contact with her and was like, “Oh sure, I’ll be back in Dubuque the 16th. We should get together and go over everything!” HA! She needed the dress by the 5th of December. Basically everything was done from 2,000 miles away from each other.

She sent me her measurements and we collaborated on some ideas that I thought would look great on her and what she was looking for. In the end I got it all done for her and she ended up LOVING it! I was so happy! I was pretty nervous. You know, you don’t want to mess something up that you did for someone, ya dig? It worked out well that we are similar in size and I was able to try it on as I went. Funny story though: I finished patterning and sewing up the dress and put it on one last time. It was like Cindy Brady status. SUPER short. I was freaking out – then I remembered that I am about 5-6 inches taller than her. Phew!

Here is the finished product on my dress form:

Cocktail Dress Cocktail Dress

 

It looks a little wonky on the dress form because it is a bit hard to twist the things to fit! Anyway, it is a short LBD with a sweetheart neckline and 3/4 sleeves. I went to the fabric store and loved this polka dot print sheer fabric. It was perfect for the dress. The main body of the dress is a soft fabric with a little stretch for comfort. There is an invisible zipper in the back and a tulle underskirt for some volume. I was super happy with how it turned out. I had to rush to send it out to her to make sure it got to her in time so I wasn’t able to get any proper pictures of it. Bahhh 😦

Overall I’m so happy with the way it came out and I saw a couple selfies she was in with the dress on and it looked great on her! I really love how it turned out and I think I’m going to make myself one in red with lace (where the polka dots are) for the holidays. I have some fabric sitting around that I need to put to use!

xoxoxo Megan

INSTAGRAM | TWITTER | PINTERESTBLOGLOVIN’

Nerium Infomation | Nerium Products

 

One thought on “Custom Work!

Leave a Reply

