Trends: Fall/Winter ’14

So many of you know that I went (and still go to) FIDM and graduated last June with a degree in Fashion Design. I would like to get back into it more and have decided to start doing more fashion related things with my little blog here. Obviously it makes the most sense so lets just move right along, shall we? Each season I will bring to you some of the newest trends and then give a sort of shopping list of some pieces that I think will be a great staple in your wardrobe for that particular trend. Now, normally I’m not really one to following trends (how hipster of me….bleh.) but I know a lot of people like to know what is going on in the fashion world, so this is why I do it. P.S. sorry this one is a bit late as the season is already here, but what can you do?

The Sixties

I love me some Twiggy and I was so happy to see a lot of throwbacks and designs that were paying homage to the past. I love vintage inspired looks and tons of top designers were showing mini-skirts and trapeze dresses that were iconic to that time period.

Sixties Dresses

 

Knits

Knits are great because they let you feel like you’re wearing pajamas all day and it’s totally acceptable and (most of the time) they don’t get wrinkly! This season shows a lot of all over knit styles which I am totally all for, and according to Vogue Paris they are done best in neutral tones – but where is the fun in that? I say if you’re going for the all over knit look I like to wear wide-legged, bold printed pants and a solid knit top. It’s my go to “acceptable pajama feeling outfit” every time.

fw14-2

Gold!!

I love wearing metallic colors and until recently I was always a silver kind of girl but now I’m all over that gold! The runways were full of this rich color and it was seen in every form; dresses, separates, skirts, pants, coats/jackets, etc. Gold is definitely in right now and it’s a great look for the holidays too!

fw14-3

Animal Print and Fur

Leopard/Cheetah is perfect year round but I especially love it during the winter months, even more so with the fur (faux of course…at least for me!). There is just something so sexy and cozy about it. Just remember, like everything in this world, please do it in moderation. A top or coat looks amazing but all over animal print – or heaven forbid an all over fur number- plunges your wild side into tacky and just…..weird.

fw14-4

Obviously there are so many more and quick Google search will get you into all of that, plus so much more. These were just some of my favorites and some of my favorite pieces that I came across while looking for some examples. I really, really want a leopard printed coat for this winter and have been on the look out for a while. The only thing is I live in SoCal and would probably only wear it the short time I was back in Iowa. Boooo! I want more cold weather so I can have cute coats!!! Ha! Such a baby and I’m sure everyone living anywhere else is totally side-eyeing me right now.

Which trends are you’re favorites right now?!

xoxoxo Megan

INSTAGRAM | TWITTER | PINTERESTBLOGLOVIN’

Nerium Infomation | Nerium Products

Leave a Reply

