Cinnamon Sugar Pizza via Pinterest

Back again with some more food from Pinterest that I wanted to try out! I love “Dessert Pizza” – especially from Godfather’s. I don’t know if that restaurant is everywhere, just in the Midwest, just in Dubuque. I have no idea but it’s the cats meow! Either way I loved getting this stuff when I was little – the Godfather’s restaurant in Dubuque closed a few years back. Wah, such a sad day. But anyway I found this recipe on while trolling through pins and knew I HAD to give it a go. I know Pizza Ranch has this available too (again, is that restaurant everywhere or just where I’m from?) but it just doesn’t taste the same. I’ve had it pinned for a bit but never had EVERYTHING that was needed. Don’t you hate when that happens? I’d use the brown sugar for something and remember this pin and not have any. Or I’d made the cresent rolls just to eat and not have another roll. It’s a struggle, I tell you. However, I recently got groceries and now aim to make this bad boy now that I’m on break and have absolutely nothing else to do with my time – except still drool over the 3.1 Phillip Lim for Target collection. Yep, still not over it!

This recipe called for another crumble situation. I think we all recall what happened last time there was a crumble involved – ahem: “French Toast Muffins” Hopefully this one goes better for me!

downsized_0919131451

Here we are making the crumble. It says to “cut in the butter…” which at first I was like, “….huh?” Then it made more sense I just started smashing it in with a fork, at first it didn’t look like it was going to be enough butter but in the end it all worked out!

downsized_0919131458

Next I rolled out the cresent pieces and spread the crumbly all over them. I’m sure there is a neater approach to this but I just got fed up with trying to keep on the crumbles on the pieces of dough and just dumped it on there. Hey, it’s covered right? I’ll take them off the pan and they’ll look much better later.

While they were baking in the oven I moved on to making the glaze part. I followed the recipes amount but then decided I wanted a lot more powdered sugar in this business so I got some more and went to town:

0919131507

I’m a spoon-licker when I’m done mixing things and done with the utensil and let me tell you – oh my lanta my teeth nearly fell out on the spot for how sweet this was from the extra powdered sugar! Immediately I had to get the dental rinse out and swish it around a bit.

downsized_0919131509

I let them cool for about 5-7 minutes once they were done. I baked them for a bit longer than the minimum time because I just didn’t think they were done and biting into dough like this kind is just sick.

downsized_0919131520

I drizzled the glaze on in funky, abstract designs but that quickly pooled into goop. Oh well! I figured it would do that. I let them sit for a bit longer and then it was time to see how they turned out!

downsized_0919131521

AWESOME! So good!! I love these so much. I plan on making them, and some other Pinterest treats, when I go home at Christmas time I know for a fact that my brother will die over this. I think next time I will actually bake the pieces a little shorter and just do the minimum time. Not that they are hard or anything but i think they might be even better just a touch softer. I put them in the fridge to see if that will make the glaze soak in more, which would be even more awesome! Overall, such a success it’s insane!

Recipe:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees (F)

Ingredients:

1 can Pillsbury Cresent Rolls

Crumble:

  • 1/4 cup butter (cold)
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • dash of salt
  • 1/2 cup flour

Glaze:

  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar (add more to your liking)
  • 1 Tbsp. softened butter
  • 1-1/4 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 to 1-1/2 Tbsp. milk

Procedure:

Combine sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, salt, and flour in bowl.

Cut in butter to form a “crumb” consistency.

Roll out Cresent rolls onto a non-greased cookie/baking sheet.

Spread crumb mixture over the dough.

Bake for 8-12 minutes.

While baking pepare the glaze mixture.

Allow pieces to cool once finished baking for 5-7 minutes.

Drizzle glaze over pieces.

*From The Sweetest Pear via Chef In Training

MAKE THIS NOW.

P.S. sorry about the shat quality of these images. I have to use my cell phone to take them and it  is less than desirable. I am going to get an iPhone when the new ones officially come out….so tomorrow? I can’t decide if I want an iPhone 5C or 5S. Any thoughts? I’ve heard mixed things about them. Honestly I just like that the 5C comes in pink and is roughly $100 cheaper. Anyway know what’s up?

Leave a Reply

