Sew With Me, Series 1: Skirt & Finishing!

We’re almost done! After this we will all have a new skirt! I hope everything has gone well thus far and there weren’t too many issues following along with everything. I’m sure there are some people that think the instructions might be a little strange but they are the easiest way I’ve found to make this skirt. Remember in the beginning what this skirt looked like? Check it here if you don’t! Not looking so good, this is how I tweaked the original design and made it look better and more functional – and actually fit! With that being said let’s move onto getting this skirt made up;

Step 1: Lay your two skirt pieces down, right sides together and pin down each side. Sew them together (where the dashed lines are in the first image!) and finish off the edges however you’d like. You can zig-zag them down, serge if you are lucky enough to have one, or do any other finishing you like so it doesn’t start fraying all over the place.

skirt1

My skirt pieces look small because they are folded in half, this is only s that I could get the whole piece in the picture!

Step 2: Now we need to hem the bottom. Press the hem over 1/2in and then another 1in. Stitch as close to the edge of the hem as possible.

skirt2 skirt3

I know this seems like a really large hem but I like to give my skirts a wide hem in case I need to let it out at all. Even at the age of 21 I still seem to grow a bit and just in case there is any more shrinkage you have a little breathing room to play with!

Step 3: Sew along the top of the skirt tube with the longest stitch your machine has (also called a Basting Stitch). This is how we will gather the skirt in to fit in the waistband.

et7

skirt4

Step 4: To make sure all the gathers are distributed evenly line up the side seams and the center front and back with those of the waistband, with right sides together, and pin in these 4 places.

skirt5

skirt6

Step 5: Pull the long threads of the basting stitching to gather up each section evenly until it fits with the waistband. You will need to stretch the back waistband out and gather it to fit the stretched measurement. Don’t be afraid to use a lot of pins for this step to keep everything nice and even, sometimes it gets a little tricky sewing gathers because they like to flatten out.

skirt7

DO NOT gather the skirt to fit the shirred part without stretching it or the back will no longer stretch and chances are the skirt will be WAY too small on you now!

Step 6: Sew around the skirt and waistband, stitching the skirt to the waistband. Don’t forget the stretch the back like we did when pinning and sewing the elastic thread in.

skirt8

STRETCHHHH it on out

skirt9

Now we are done with that part! If you opted to not do a lining then you are finished! You can serge, zig-zag, etc, that seam to finish it off so it doesn’t fray and go for a stroll in your new skirt! For the rest of us, we are ALMOST done!

Step 7: Repeat steps 1 -3 on the lining pieces of the skirt. Sew the sides, hem, and gather top.

skirt10 skirt11 skirt12

Step 8: To attach this piece we need to line up the 4 sections again but still time instead of putting right sides together, we are going to put the right side of the lining against the wrong side of the waistband. So when you fold the waistband down there will be a clean finish on both sides of the waistband.

skirt13

Step 9: Sew along the top of the skirt like you did with the outside skirt pieces again.

skirt14

Step 10: Finished off this seam however you would like to prevent fraying.

skirt15

I like to go around twice when I use a zig-zag stitch to finish seams! Then just trim off the extra fabric.

Step 11: Give everything a good press to get rid of any wrinkles or weird bunching.

skirt16

YOU’RE DONE!

We have completed the skirt! How are you feeling?! If you have gotten stuck anywhere don’t be afraid to ask any questions and I’ll try to help you out! I hope this was fun for everyone and not too difficult!

skirt17

Here is my completed skirt! I wish I had done it sooner so I could have worn it this summer but that’s ok I’ll still wear it for a while this year! I plan on making some more that more seasonally appropriate and will be good for the winter time too. Are you going to make some more?!

I liked doing this a lot and was a really interesting process. It made it easier for me to get things done because I had to think everything out to tell you guys what to do so there was actually a lot less mistakes than there usually is when I sew things! I have a couple other Sew Along’s/Tutorials planned, how are we feeling about that?! Good?

P.S. This would have been up yesterday but my friend, Shawn, asked me to go to Disneyland and you know I never turn down Disneyland! Sorry, I’m not sorry 😛

994897_10151531789766269_1272809970_n 1174671_10152126024978835_2113220732_n

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

