Skirt Rework: Preliminary Showing

Remember when I was going on about elastic thread I mentioned a skirt that I had made a while back but never wore and now brought back to L.A. with me? Well here she is:

pre-skirt1

See how ill fitting and just…..LARGE…it looks? Yeah, not so flattering.

pre-skirt2

You can also see here some of my elastic threading mistakes. One, tried to go through two layers of fabric nope, that’s not going to work and I didn’t wind the bobbin correctly. So this is what I’m left with: a too large skirt that I can’t wear. I mean, it’s not terrible but it could be much better. This just doesn’t pull in enough so when I stretch it to go around me it stays up. This is not going to stay up, and it’s like 8 inches too big all around but that’s another issue.

pre-skirt3

However it’s just simply way to cute of fabric and I went all the way and LINED it also so there is NO way I can just toss it. And, I didn’t spend 1.5 years of my life slaving away in the fashion design program to not know how to fix this. Oh no, I got you little skirt, I got you. Well now that you’ve seen what it looks like and all the work it needs I’m basically going to be taking it all apart and redoing it so I can wear it! Which means (almost) starting from scratch so I thought it would be fun to create a little “Sew With Me” series and I’ll walk you guys through making this skirt since I have to redo mine and it wasn’t made from a pattern! It’s pretty easy and I promise I will do my best to get all the instructions out clearly to you.

Check back in the next couple of days for this to begin!

Leave a Reply

