Panty Tutorial: How to Sew Underwear

I found this tutorial on YouTube one day while I was searching around and added it to my ever growing list of “DIY/Sewing/Crafts.” I told my friend, Emily, about it too and on Saturday we opted to put the plan in action. We went to the fabric store and searched around for some fabric that not only would be hygienically friendly but also cost effective. Every girl knows that buying (cute) panties can be a pain in the butt (LOLOLOLL) and really expensive so we wanted to find an alternative. We found some fabric we liked, got the trims, etc. and our bill was only $15! We didn’t know how much we were going to need really but now that I’ve made my first pair and I have tons of fabric left over I plan on getting a lot of panties out my 1.5 yards.

I used a regular sewing machine to make mine since I don’t have a serger and a zig-zag stitch seemed to work out just fine for me. The only thing about this tutorial that we found didn’t work was the leg bands. I don’t know why but for some reason when you go to put the stretch lace on using the same measurement of the old panties it is WAY to tight. Even though the old ones fit. It happened to Emily so it just seems to be a bit of a mysterious problem across the board. I recommend adding at least an inch to the cut off leg bands. I tested out the homemade panties yesterday to see how they worked out in a normal day of going to school and since it was ungodly hot yesterday just how everything was going to go. I am happy to say this was a COMPLETE success! I will never be buying store bought panties again!

downsized_0514131439

I originally found the navy/white stripes but when we went to find the organic cotton/100% cotton for the lining they didn’t have anything that would match (i.e. white or navy) so then Emily got the bright idea of using red for the liner (aka a “gusset”) and then use red lace trim and do a nautical theme! I LOVE THEM!

downsized_0514131438

Now I just need to buy matching thread so you can’t see the stitch lines…oops!

This tutorial will take you, step by step, through the process of making underwear that fit you perfectly and look great too.  You can click on any of the photos in each step to enlarge them (which will make reading the text on some of them much easier).  Please use this pattern for personal use only, and feel free to link back to this post.

As always, I encourage you to Contact Me if you have any questions throughout the process, I love to hear from you!!

Supplies:

  • 1/2 yard of jersey fabric (up to 1 yard for larger sizes) – It is really hard to find cute jersey, so feel free to repurpose old t-shirts, pajamas or whatever jersey you can find!
  • 2 yard of stretch lace trim (up to 2.5 yards for larger sizes)
  • 1 pair of retired cotton (jersey) panties to become your pattern
  • 1 small…

View original post 1,033 more words

2 thoughts on “Panty Tutorial: How to Sew Underwear

Leave a Reply

