School School School

Bah! I’ve been slacking lately on keeping up with my blogging! But I’ve got an excuse and it’s a real one!! I’ve started school again obviously and I can already tell that this quarter is gong to be a lot harder than the last one. Most of my classes this quarter are going to be book based and so I feel like I’m going to have to read a lot which takes time and I always seem to have to read it twice just to make sure I got it. I want to keep my grades really high and do super well here so almost all my time goes into my studying. Kind of a lame life but for real, I live and go to school in Los Angeles. How many people can say that?

I’ve had all my classes at least once and I like all of them and my teachers. My draping and construction class is probably going to be my favorite. We get to make pretty drappy things every week. Sounds so fun! I also think my business of fashion and textile science classes are going to be a lot more fun that other people led me to believe. Everyone that already took the classes said it’s just a lot of dumb work but I think it will be interesting and I’ll use all the information a lot. Effective speaking is going to be a cake walk for me because I don’t mind speaking in front of people all the time and I can make up speeches fast. The first one is going to be about my High School Graduation – funny stories there! Sketching II….is sketching. Hate it but have to take it. I watched a movie today (The Secret World of Haute Couture) and witnessed Karl Lagerfeld sketching without perfect line quality and nuance. I guess we need to know how to do it but I can sew what’s in my head without sketching it first so I feel like skipping a step won’t hurt anyone!

I love all my teachers this quarter too. Last quarter I wasn’t so pleased with all my teachers but this time I got a good bunch. I get a lot of homework but what are you going to do? My textbooks are rather interesting but honestly reading tiny, black print off glossy white pages isn’t the most interesting thing to do in the world. I can’t wait until we get to start draping pretty things and making things!!

BTW: I bought my plane ticket to go home for Christmas already! It was cheap so I jumped at the chance – I don’t usually buy tickets this far in advanced but I was worried that I wasn’t going to get another ticket half way across the country, to the airport I want, nonstop, and on the days I wanted for about $280. Can’t say no to that right? I’ll be back in Iowa in 35 weeks and 2 days! I think it will feel kind of weird not being in L.A. but I think it will be nice to get away from the city and everything else for awhile.

Leave a Reply

