Debut Show

Changed a few things around and added a couple new things. Just regular blog maintenance :]

Anyway, it’s been a while since I posted anything but that’s because I’ve been super busy. I am finally done with all my finals and it’s time for break! I’m not really doing all the much – Emily and Lisa both went home so I feel like it’s kind of going to be a little boring. However, I am going down to San Diego to visit my Aunt Sarah on Friday so that should be a good time. But on to the point of this post;

Thursday, Friday, and Saturday Emily and I worked as dressers for the FIDM Debut Fashion Show! There is one every year for the 3rd year fashion students and it’s super competitive to get in to. Hopefully I’ll make it in when I get there – I’m only JUST finished with my 1st quarter but hey, you have to have goals right? Here is the little thing they give you on the FIDM website to explain Debut – better than I can:

FIDM’s annual DEBUT Runway Show attracts nearly 10,000 people over three days and features designs by graduating students in FIDM’s Fashion Design and Theatre Costume Design Advanced Study programs, as well as work from Interior Design, Digital Media, and Textile Design students. The extravaganza concludes on the third night with the DEBUT Runway Show & Gala, a scholarship fundraising event attended by industry notables, FIDM Alumni, and fashion celebrities.

For the last several years, DEBUT has been held at the Barker Hangar in Santa Monica. In addition to the industry, the runway show is also attended by high school students from around the country, friends and family of the graduating students, fellow FIDM Students, and FIDM Staff and Faculty. A special invitation-only pre-party is attended by high school students who are members of official FIDM High School Fashion Clubs and features celebrity guests, eyelash bars, and a DJ.

Sounds awesome huh? I didn’t get to see the show but they send out DVDs of it and they play it all year long on the TVs round school. Plus I was super close to all the clothes the whole time!

My model’s name was Anna Maria and she was super cool! She was from Sweden and had a flower shop there so we totally got along great. Her boyfriend was the producer of Immortals which I LOVE. So she brought me a copy of the DVD! I was geeking out so hard :] Emily had an awesome model and the girl we met there had a model that won Project Runway! Cool Cool Cool! I had to dress her for 5 different looks and once we got the hang out it and had everything planned out Emily and I were like machines. Our girls were out and done faster than anyone else’s. We work so well together – love her!

Overall it was a great experience and I’m super glad we did it! (Got paid $150 too!) We did 4 shows in 3 days and it was amazing fun!  To celebrate after the last show we went to the Cheesecake Factory which is our favorite place to eat!

Leave a Reply

